Texecom alarm system – first steps and installation

I’ve just upgraded the alarm system in my house. When we moved in several years ago there was an ancient ADT installed alarm system. This had been monitored by phone, but when we came we pulled out a lot of the wiring and more to the point didn’t want to pay any monitoring charges.

The system has been rather temperamental since then, and I’ve been keen to change it ever since. The reason for doing so is that I’ve wanted something more reliable and higher tech… and also I’m intrigued by the possibilties for tinkering that this offers.

I did quite a lot of research, and I ended up choosing a Texecom system. This seems to be a cut above the normal domestic brands and are clearly used in a lot of professional settings. I wanted to reuse as much of the existing wired infrastructure as possible, and so I needed at least 6 wired zones. I also wanted to option of using a wireless expansion for extra zones, plus as much options for connectivity as possible. I decided to replace all the sensors as well with modern equivalents.

I bought the following:

Texecom Premier Elite 48

Texecom Premier Elite LCDLP keypad

I was surprised how cheap they were – about £90 each. The keypad has a big display, and support proximity tags as well as some zone expansion. The keypads come in all shapes and sizes – you can get brass, metal, chrome and plastic versions, include a range which can be sunk into the wall. I ended up picking the plastic one because it was cheaper and I’m not quite ready to bash big holes in the wall.

Installation was pretty easy – just a question of stripping the old box out and rewiring the old zones to the new ones. Then the fun begins…

2 thoughts on “Texecom alarm system – first steps and installation”

  1. hi there,
    I must say that I am pretty impress with your skills and knowledge you have about these texecom alarm system components. I recently bought a Texecom Premier elite Kit – 5 from ebay and thought I could have installed it myself. But upon receiving the same as that came with following components but I suppose I am still missing some key components like connecting with my phone and home wifi so I can remotely operate the system with their mobile app.

    The components I got are ::-
    1 x Premier Elite 48
    1 x Premier LCDP
    5 x Proximity Tags
    1 x Premier Elite 32XP-W
    2 x Premier Elite QD-W
    2 x Premier Elite DT-W
    2 x Premier Elite Impaq Contact-W

    I also bought a sounder and smart key later after realising that I would need them

    Now, can you please help me to understand what else I would need if I want to send a msg to my mobile if alarm triggers, control the panel using mobile app and connecting it to phone line so it can dial my number for warning.

    Also, it would be great if you could supply me with a simple set of instructions to cofigure the devices came with it.

    Thank you very much.
    Anil

  2. Thanks!

    That sounds like a great system, quite similar to what I have here.

    There are a couple of things to be aware of – your sensors are all wireless (ie ‘Ricochet’) which is good but can be a bit tricky to set up. The instructions that come with the 32XP-W need to be read very carefully as the process for registering the sensors is not very obvious. I’m going to write a post about this because of the difficulties I had. Basically you have to ignore the ‘Learn Ricochet’ option and instead program the sensor directly in to each zone.

    If you want to use your mobile phone as you suggest, then you will need some kind of GSM interface – either the genuine Texecom ‘ComGSM’ (easy, but expensive) or a DIY solution involving some Chinese GSM modules (see my other posts – very cheap but needs a little effort). The end result is the same, and you can arm, disarm and get status reports using your mobile. It will also send text messages if the alarm goes off and there are lots of other options.

    I would also recommend that you get a USB cable to help with programming the panel. Again you can either use a DIY solution (very cheap) or buy either a genuine or clone cable from ebay. Then you can download the ‘Wintex’ software from the Texecom website which is very useful indeed.

    It might be a good idea to wire up the system on the bench and play around with it first before you install it, and the you can test installing the sensors.

    In the meantime if you have any specific questions please let me know and I’ll do my best to answer

Leave a Reply

